Look what I’ve got….!

In recent years I have struggled with achieving a good fit. In fact I have had so much trouble that from time to time I have given up.

I then spend an incredible amount of time shopping for well made, flattering clothes, that actually fit me. Fail again. You would laugh if you saw my wardrobe – there is hardly anything there. I refuse to spend money on something that either strains everywhere or that covers me like a sack without any shape.

In frustration I return to my sewing machine and try again.

This pattern keeps repeating over and over again. Does anybody feel the same, or is it just me?

Enter ‘Workspace Fashion and Design Studio‘ run by Sarah. The best thing that has happened to Perth in a very, very long time.

I now have my own torso block pattern.

 

I tried to create this myself using various sources of instructions, but without a sewing partner to assist with measuring and correcting the fit – it failed.

I have at different times approached sewing teachers, but they all wanted to fit me into ‘their’ block pattern, rather than look at my particular measurements. Sarah, however, is very different. This is from her ‘About me’ page on her website.

“I have more than 20 years of experience in every aspect of design, from costume design to fashion, both ready to wear and bridal couture, printing, dyeing and quilting . So if you are wanting to learn pattern making or sewing, you have come to the right place!”

We are lucky to have her in our midst.

Whilst on her web page, have a look at her blog to see what is happening in her corset making class. Pure magic!

Sarah measured me and then proceeded to teach me how to draft my own torso block pattern. Once made up in calico, the fitting process began. Sarah’s expert eye quickly determined where my problems were and how to fix them. She taught me how to make adjustments and before long a second muslin was prepared and the the fine tuning of the fit was done. The end result is my very own personal block pattern.

 

I am so excited!!!!!

Now I am learning how to use the block patterns to create my own designs or copy something I have seen in shops or magazines.

More to come …

 

2 thoughts on “Look what I’ve got….!

  1. I could have written your post word for word.You lucky lady finding someone to assist you with the pattern fitting and block.

    • Hi Mary, it is so frustrating isn’t it? I recommend searching high and low to find the right help. Sarah also helped me making a duct tape double. I will write about that in my next post. I think that too will be really valuable.

Leave a Reply

