‘Couture’ Jeans

Well…… maybe I am stretching it a bit calling it ‘couture’ as there is no hand stitching, and as to being classed as jeans? It can probably be debated too, but regardless, I am really happy with my creation.

 

I purchased the Kenneth D King Craftsy course on how to copy your favourite jeans. The sad thing is that I don’t have a favorite pair of jeans to copy, so I just watched the technique, and moved on.

Recently, I learnt how to draft my own torso block pattern at Workspace Fashion and Design School. I already had Winifred Aldrich’s book ‘Metric pattern cutting for women’s wear’, but never had any success drafting my own torso pattern, so the book was put away on top shelf.

 

I decided to try drafting my own skirt block using the book and what Sarah had taught me. I took my own measurements as that is relatively easy on the lower half of the body……. It seemed to fit really well!

Next I tried drafting The Classic Tailored Trouser Block, and again it seemed to fit. I took both my trial muslins along to my next class with Sarah, and she agreed. They fitted me, and no alterations were necessary!

Can you imagine how excited I was?

I was on a roll. Next I tried drafting The Very Close Fitting Trouser/Jean Block. A few minor corrections were necessary on this block, but I was able to do this myself.

Now the test. What would they be like made up in a fashion fabric? I had a cotton sateen sitting on my shelf and I had always wanted to use it for pants. But jeans? It did not have enough body for jeans and the fabric was prone to creasing. What if I underline the jeans? Ridiculous idea! People don’t underline jeans!

Well, I can do what I want to! ….. And I did!

I used tips gained from Kenneth D King’s class during the construction. The underlining is a light cotton shirting, and it is doing its job in preventing a lot of the creasing and the fabric now has a body and richness it didn’t have before. My jeans feel so luxurious to wear.

A few more photos, although it is hard to see the details in the dark and busy print.

 

 

Now I just need to make a new (many) top to wear with the jeans instead of this ten year old shirt. My wardrobe is seriously lacking ……. everything!

 

13 thoughts on “‘Couture’ Jeans

  1. Lena – these look SO GOOD, fabric AND fit! Getting a block which fits you is revelatory, right? The opportunities are now officially super exciting and endless! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for those lovely words Sarah. I have tried to get my own block for sooooo long. Finally success. Endless opportunities? Well yes that is so exciting, but I realise that I have a lot to learn.

  2. Wow!! These jeans are amazing!! You have inspired me to finally make myself a pair of floral printed jeans because I can see a pair of these fitting in so well with my wardrobe!!

    • Wow, thank you so much Miranda. I am very pleased with mine now that I have worn them a lot, they still look good and the fit has also stayed the same. The interlining has really made the difference for the fabric I used. I love them!

  3. Nice idea with the underlining, and beautiful jeans. They look like they fit you really well. I underlined a pair of pants for my daughter with flannel when she insisted I make her pants out of the thin purple fabric I had. They were very cozy. I have a lot of fabric in my stash that I need to use up, and very little is heavy enough for making jeans, so I think I’ll give this a try on jeans for me, too, as one of my next projects. I’ve been experimenting making my own laundry starch from cornstarch, and it tends to stick fabric together, so I’m thinking I might be able to use it to stick the two layers of fabric together, then cut them out as one.

    • Thank you for your nice comments Leila. I have read your recipe for laundry starch but never thought to use it as a kind of ‘glue’ to stick the two fabrics together. I will be keen to see what you end up doing. I don’t find that the two layers not sticking together is a problem. In fact for the fabric I used I think it is an advantage because there is a slight movement between the layers which gives them a ‘richer’ look – like trousers instead of jeans.

  4. Pingback: Thrifty Sewing | Grow Your Own Clothes

Leave a Reply

