Birthday dress – or vintage overkill?

My birthday was nearly a month ago, and the dress was ready in time for a great night out, but I have been very slow in taking photos.

My birthday dress

I was the lucky winner of a giveaway by Winnie at Scruffy Badger Time. The prize was New Look 6000 …… but that happened in February! It has taken me a few months to actually make a dress from that pattern.

Actually, I started making a dress from a lovely cotton to wear in summer, but then the autumn and winter came and it was put aside as a UO. It is nearly there though, and soon 🙂 I will be able to post about that dress too.

Back to what is finished. The birthday dress. I made it from a stable knit and I decided to line the dress. It is not something I normally do with knit fabrics, but I have noticed that expensive designer knit garments are lined.

I decided to omit the pleats as the fabric was too thick to get a nice outcome. I added the collar and longer sleeves but omitted the cuffs. Those cuffs are too much retro for me. Being of vintage age I don’t feel comfortable dressing in clothes that are too vintage inspired. I fear I would look like someone who has been asleep for 50 years and just woken up! One bit of vintage (me) is OK but add the clothes and it would be overkill in my opinion.

It turned out to be a very comfortable and warm winter dress. Great for our cold evenings in Perth.

24 thoughts on “Birthday dress – or vintage overkill?

  1. Love it! It’s interesting that you lined with it being a stable knit as well…I bet it feels luxurious as well as looking like a really expensive boutique dress.

    • Thanks Winnie – I am so grateful to you for supplying the pattern. I have a totally different summer dress coming up when the weather heats up a bit. And yes, it feels really wonderful against my skin with the lining. Definitely something I will do again – so worth the extra effort.

    • Guidelines yes, but I would be totally lost without the patterns to begin with. My battle usually revolves around fitting and resolving problems.

  2. You look fantastic. I have this same pattern and I can’t wait to make it. You look so good and I agree the pleats wouldn’t have worked in this fabric. I’m still trying to make a call about adding the collar to mine because I am quite big in the top half…. love the colour on you too

    • I think you should try to fit the collar. You can always take it off again if you are not happy with the look, and going by the photos on your blog you are not any larger than I. I can’t wait to see your version of the dress.

  3. This is so nice! I cant wait to make some winter dresses! Love the huge button as well! You look amazing!

  4. Your dress is so elegant and chic 🙂
    I cam here to apologise… I pinned myself to the google map of seamsters, and accidentally moved your pin when I was checking to see if mine had worked… I moved it back to its original position but it now reads “updated by Carolyn” I’m sorry!
    But more importantly, it is so nice to find another seamstress in Perth.

    • No worries Carolyn – I haven’t been blogging for a long time. Can’t decide if it is for me. Too self conscious I think, but I like to be in touch with fellow sewers.

Leave a Reply

