Pattern Sale! Woo-Hoo!

There can’t be many sewers in Perth. One fabric store after the other is closing down making options for fabric more and more limited.

I will really have to start buying on the net as I can rarely find what I am looking for. I like to feel a fabric before I buy but I will soon have to trust the descriptions on fabric web sites.

One fabric store that closed down some time ago was stranded with a lot of patterns. I am a member of a Burda Sewing group, and yesterday our group was given the chance of going through all the patterns and select as many as we wanted for only $2 each!

There were Vogue, Butterick, New Look, McCalls and Burda patterns – 1000s of them.

Here are a few of the drawers full of patterns – there were many more ……..

I feel really sad for the people who had to give up on their business and probably lost a lot of money as a result.

The opportunity wasn’t lost on me though. This is what I bought …… I hope they will all get made up into beautiful garments ….. dreaming ………

7 thoughts on “Pattern Sale! Woo-Hoo!

  1. I’m so glad you had this opportunity! My mother once bought trim by the pound from a shop going out of business, heady thrill!!! I think I own several of the Vogues and New Looks, LOL! Happy sewing!

    • Heady all right – we were all going from drawer to drawer checking and exchanging patterns we had picked. So hard to decide and even at $2 there is a limit. Fancy trim by the pound …. how exciting!

  2. Oh my what store was this? What a shame…and what a bargain at the same time! Gosh and I thought we’d helped pick up the Perth sewing scene, oh well, so it goes I guess :-/

    • The store was the Fabric Gallery in Greenwood. You will have to come back to Perth to help keep the stores in business. We are obviously not able to keep the stores running on our own.

      • I thought they had just been bought out by Fabulous Fabrics in Balcatta, that happened before I left but obviously that didn’t include their brimming pattern drawers, you lucky girls! Yes, I would love to come over for a short vacation to see my favourite girls, I miss you all, and of course bring an extra suitcase to fill up at Potters! 😉

Leave a Reply

